Complete List of Current Ministers In Ghana

Complete List of Current Ministers In Ghana

Who are the Current Ministers In Ghana? Ghana’s ministers, appointed by the President, oversee the country’s development and welfare through portfolios across various sectors, ensuring its rich history and diverse culture. In this article, we will take a comprehensive look at the current ministers in Ghana, exploring their roles, responsibilities, and contributions.

The varied range of ministries overseen by competent ministers reflects how Ghana’s government is set up to address different facets of national development. These ministers are tasked with developing strategies, putting them into practice, and supervising their implementation in order to further the development and prosperity of the nation.

2023 List of Current Ministers In Ghana

Central Government Ministers
1National SecurityAlbert Kan Dapaah
2FinanceKen Ofori-Atta
3Trade and IndustryAlan Kyerematen
4DefenceHon. Dominic Nitiwul, MP
5InteriorHon. Ambrose Dery, MP
6Foreign Affairs & Regional IntegrationShirley Ayorkor Botchwey
7Attorney General and Minister for JusticeGodfred Dame
8Local Government, Decentralisation & Rural Dev’tHon. Dan Botwe, MP
9Parliamentary AffairsHon. Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, MP
10Communications and DigitalisationHon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, MP
11Food and AgricultureDr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto
12EnergyHon. Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, MP
13EducationHon. Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum, MP
14HealthHon. Kwaku Agyemang Manu, MP
15Lands and Natural ResourcesHon. Samuel Abdulai Jinapor, MP
16Roads and HighwaysHon. Kwasi Amoako-Atta, MP
17Works and HousingHon. Francis Asenso Boakye, MP
18TransportKwaku Ofori Asiamah
19Fisheries and Aquaculture DevelopmentHon. Mavis Hawa Koomson, MP
20Railway DevelopmentHon. John Peter Amewu, MP
21Sanitation and Water ResourcesCecilia Abena Dapaah
22Tourism, Arts and CultureAwal Mohammed
23Gender, Children and Social ProtectionHon. Sarah Adwoa Safo, MP
24Chieftaincy and Religious AffairsHon. Ebenezer Kojo Kum, MP
25Environment, Science, Technology & InnovationHon. Dr. Kwaku Afriyie, MP
26Employment and Labour RelationsHon. Ignatius Baffuor Awuah, MP
27InformationHon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, MP
28Youth and SportsHon. Mustapha Yussif, MP
29Public EnterprisesHon. Joseph Cudjoe, MP
30Works and Housing (Minister of State)Hon. Freda Prempeh, MP

For the central Government ministers in 2021, Some appointees who served as deputy ministers in Akufo-Addo’s first term have had their portfolios elevated into substantive ministers of their respective ministries.

The Deputy Education Minister, Dr Yaw Adutwum, and former Deputy Attorney General, Godfred Dame have both been elevated to serve as substantive ministers.

Ken Ofori-Atta has been maintained at the Finance Ministry alongside Alan Kyeremanten who will keep his position as the Trade Minister.

The MP for Ablekuma West, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful stays at the Communications Ministry while MP for Ofoase-Ayirebi, Kojo Oppong-Nkrumah will continue to serve as Information Minister.


List of Current Regional Ministers in Ghana
1AhafoGeorge Boakye
2AshantiSimon Osei-Mensah
3BonoJustina Owusu-Banahene
4Bono EastAdu Gyan
5CentralJustina Marigold Assan
6EasternSeth Acheampong
7Greater AccraHon. Henry Quartey, MP
8NorthernShani Alhassan Saibu
9North EastYidana Zakaria
10OtiJoseph Makubu
11SavannahSaeed Muhazu Jibril
12Upper EastStephen Yakubu
13Upper WestDr. Hafiz Bin Salih
14VoltaDr. Archibald Yao Letsa
15WesternHon. Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah, MP
16Western NorthRichard Obeng

In Conclusion

The commitment and knowledge of Ghana’s ministers, who relentlessly work across several sectors to guarantee the country has a prosperous future, shape the country’s progress and development. Ghana advances on its path to growth and prosperity as long as these ministers continue to innovate, work together, and take the lead.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Who appoints the ministers in Ghana? The ministers in Ghana are appointed by the President of the country.
  2. How often are ministerial positions reviewed or changed? Ministerial positions can be reviewed or changed at the discretion of the President, usually after general elections or as needed.
  3. What qualifications do these ministers possess? Ministers often possess qualifications and experience relevant to their respective portfolios, such as expertise in economics, law, healthcare, education, and more.
  4. Do these ministers work independently or collaboratively? While each minister oversees a specific portfolio, they often collaborate with other ministries and government agencies to achieve comprehensive development goals.
  5. What impact do these ministers have on Ghana’s development? These ministers play a crucial role in shaping policies, implementing programs, and guiding Ghana’s development trajectory across various sectors, ensuring sustainable progress.

Don’t miss out on current updates, kindly like us on Facebook & Follow Us On Instagram OR leave a comment below for further inquiries.