How To Calculate New WAEC Ghana WASSCE Grading System

How To Calculate New WAEC Ghana WASSCE Grading System

West Africa Senior School Certificate Examination (WASSCE) is the main exam that senior school candidates take to get entries in West Africa universities. Thus Learn how To Calculate the New WAEC Ghana WASSCE Grading System

The WAEC greatly contribute to education in that it has funds contributed to support the needy candidates with good performance to pursue their dream careers in universities. It is also known for having a strong committee since it was established in 1952.

As earlier mentioned, WAEC result is one of the prerequisites for gaining admission into higher institutions across West Africa. On that note, we will be showing you the full WACE grading systems.

This guide is to enable the students to make a conscious effort that will guarantee them a good WAEC result and boost their chances of furthering their studies into the University level.

WAEC Ghana Grading System

Under the new WAEC grading system, A1 is Excellent, B2 Very Good, B3 Good, C4, C5 and C6 are interpreted as Credit, D7 and D8 are interpreted as Pass, while F9 is Fail.

A1 and B2 in the WASSCE means Excellent, B3 is B (Very Good), C4 is C (Good), C5 and C6 are D (Credit), D7 and E8 are E (Pass) and F9 is F (Fail).

How WASSCE grades are calculated?

The WASSCE grades are determined with points, for example, A1 is 1, B2 is 2 and C6 is 6. So if you got an A1 in 3 core subjects and 3 electives, you will multiply 1 by 6 and your total aggregate score will be 6.4

For instance, in the WASSCE grades interpretation above, you will find that, to obtain A1, in WASSCE , you need to get marks of 71% to 100%, which is equivalent to 1 and interpreted as excellent.

WASSCE Grading System / Interception


WAEC Grading and Interpretation in Percentage

GradeDefinitionInterpretation in Percentage
A1Excellent75 – 100
B2Very Good70 – 74
B3Good65 – 69
C4Credit60 – 64
C5Credit55 – 59
C6Credit50 – 54
D7Pass49 – 45
E8Pass40 – 44
F9Fail0 – 39

Is D7 fail in WAEC?

The minimum grade that shows that you have passed a course in waec is C6, anything less than that (D7, E8 or F9) is considered as fail, you can go through WAEC grading system.

Is D7 accepted in university?

Currently, public universities do not accept D7 for core subjects in admission purposes.

Don’t miss out on current updates, kindly like us on Facebook & Follow Us On Instagram OR leave a comment below for further inquiries.